Alaska

I say your name, familiar unfamiliar,

Lover and totem I carry with me

 

My bones thin white birch trees

Snow covered, spread with the rosy blush

Of sunset as the short day ends

 

My flesh small flowers without leaves

Vast roots digging deep into mountain slopes

Sheltering from tearing winds under solitary rocks

 

My eyes the pools at the edges of the river

Where the salmon gather for companionable rest

And the driftwood nests of white and copper eagles

Calling out to mates as they swoop down, fishing

 

My dreams giant whales breaching, then diving deep

Into cold gray depths—leaving only the cry

Of gulls, the lapping of small waves

 

 

Leave a Reply

