The raven herself

At night my wings stretch

Out into the moonlight

Covering the starlight

My feathers brush the pillows

My bones stretch over sheets

 

My heavy body is a bird

And in my dreams I’ve flown

 

I perch above the castle

Sing with my rough voice

I sit on a man’s shoulder

Looking out into the world

 

My black eyes, my black body

My black beak tearing close

At the black flesh of the night

At the surface of the dark

 

My neck is long and snaking

My nails can clutch a ledge

Molting darkness on my pillow

Feathering my sheets, my nest

 

I am a bird turning into an angel

An angel who dreams into being

A body turning into a woman

 

Leave a Reply

